Creating an Online Presence

baseball successOur readings for class tomorrow include the following:

The theme of these readings is  how to create and maintain a viable presence online. I have already tapped into this, (minus building the website) when I began my journey as a children’s author in 2010. Blogging was popular, Twitter had just started and professionals were hurrying to create their LinkedIn profiles. I didn’t sign up Academia.edu as suggested in “Creating Your Web Presence” by author Miriam Posner until 2013. But when I Googled myself as Ryan Cordell requested in his article, much of what I find is other people who have a similar name, and some of my blogs from legendsofgreenisle.com. My academic profile is nil with the exception of my LinkedIn.

This brings me to Cohen and Rosenzweig’s chapters about getting started digitally with historical research. Digital projects are a conclusive way to becoming well known on the web. We can certainly see this in something like the Ellis Island project. I know that I utilized this site during my student teaching days because it was very interactive for the user. The information they offered in Chapters 2-4 has put me on system overload though. Having an interactive web design like the Ellis Island project appears to be massive and require multiple elements in its upkeep.  I was not aware of the many web design tools or hosting programs that are available, and confronted with the options of Windows versus Linux, Dreamweaver versus Front Page, and Oracle versus MySQL is mind boggling. In my past work life in the construction industry I used an Oracle based data collection program. I know that it can be manipulated to collect all sorts of pieces of information and spit out reports or forms. It certainly gives this author “food for thought” when contemplating placing my own research out on the web. I know that my database may be large with the letters, out of print books, pamphlets, images, etc., that will be incorporated later in the design.  Their suggestions regarding connecting with an institution is certainly at the top of my list, for the sole purpose that academic web space is free. Maintaining it and keeping it up to date will be a necessity that could require an adequate supply of money.

I was impressed by the different funding options that Cohen and Rosenzweig presented at the end of chapter two. Seed Grants, the National Endorsement for the Humanities and the Mellon Foundation’s Program for Scholarly Communication are possibilities for my future project. It is the designing aspect that I will be struggling with. A long time ago in my youth when I attended the University of Alaska, I thought I wanted to be a computer programmer and took Cobalt and Pascal. Those computer languages scared me and so does html. I am anxious to try the class lessons tomorrow and hopefully some computer skills will return. http://www.w3.org/MarkUp/Guide/ and http://www.webmonkey.com/2010/02/html_cheatsheet/

I shall sleep tonight with html language dancing in my head.

Leave a Reply

